Tuesday, January 11, 2011

I'm leaving for Ecuador tomorrow! I can't believe it! I feeling pretty excited...and little nervous, but honestly it doesn't quite seem real.  I've been so caught up in all the little things I have to get done before I go...passport, visa, purchasing tickets...figuring out how to get my taxes done while I'm gone, etc. I haven't had a whole lot of time to think about the fact that I'm moving to a foreign country for four months! (..where I don't know anyone and don't speak the language,  ha) Yep, its definitely going to be an adventure.


Although, I've had a long to-do list, things have started to fall together. Yesterday, I got the last of my shots. (which has actually made writing this a little awkward because my arms are still sore) But I'll take a couple sore arms any day over Yellow Fever, Tetanus, or Hep B.  Yesterday, I met with a nurse who specializes in international travel. So basically, she spends an hour telling you about all the ways you could die (complete with diagrams) and by the end of it, you (happily) pay her to stick you. I walked out of that office, rubbing my arms, thinking "man...she's gotta love her job".


Where I'll be:
I've posted a map Ecuador, for those of you who are wondering which continent it's on.  (It's okay, I wasn't paying attention in geography either) I'll be staying in Quito which is the the capitol city of Ecuador.  Quito is located in the Andes mountains, next to an active volcano. Quito's altitude is over 9,000, one of the highest capital cities in the world.  Many people experience 'altitude sickness' for several days after arriving. (Luckily, I wasn't planning on running any marathons while I was there) Ecuador is literally located on the equator (Quito is about twenty miles South of the equator). However, since Quito is at such a high elevation, the weather is actually similar to Seattle's summer (during the day its between 60-75F). I'll be there during Quito's rainy season, so Seattle has been good practice all around.


Eventually, my hope is to write these posts in both English and Spanish, although it may be a little while. I've had the equivalent of about one year of college Spanish.  In other words, I'll have lots of funny (embarrassing) stories to share about how I'm stumbling through learning the language.  


Actually, I haven't even made it down there yet and I already have one...I was at Family Christian, one of the places I've been working for the last six months.  A lady walked up to the counter to check out, while speaking Spanish to her children.  We always have some cheap items located on the front counter, so in Spanish I tried to offer her some of our 'five dollar' items...she smiled and gave me a funny look. Immediately, I knew I had said something wrong but I had no idea what.  For weeks, I was trying to figure it out. Then I got to the 'health' section in my textbook and I realized that instead of offering her 'five dollar' items, I had offered her 'five pains' ...ha, ha whoops...shh, don't tell my manager.


Anyways, I'll try to post stories and pictures as I go.  I appreciate all your thoughts and prayers!


Chau!

1 comment:

  1. Oh my gosh Jana! This is so exciting! You are going to have a blast. I will be thinking of you often and praying for you every time I think of you. Post often because I'll want to hear all about your adventures!

    I love you! Be safe, don't die!

    -Shannon

    ReplyDelete